KALRO Management

Dr. Eliud K. Kireger, OGW (Director General, KALRO)
Dr. Eliud K. Kireger Dr. Eliud Kiplimo Kireger is the Director General/CEO of KALRO. Prior to this appointment, he served as the Managing Director/CEO of the Tea Research Foundation of Kenya.

Dr Kireger attained his PhD in Plant Eco-physiology from the University of Wales, (UK), MSc in Genetics and Tree breeding from University of Toronto (Canada) and a BSc in Forestry from Moi University (Kenya). He has trained in Conflict Management and Resolution, Strategic Leadership, Company Directorship and Change Management among others. He was an Appointed Member of the board of management of Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KARI) where he chaired the Audit committee. 

Dr. Joseph Mureithi (Deputy Director General [Livestock]), KALRO
Dr. Joseph Mureithi He holds a Doctorate degree in Forage Agronomy from Reading University, UK; a Master of Science degree in Grassland Science from the same university and a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture from the University of Nairobi.
Prior of this, he served as the Deputy Director in-charge of the Research and Technology Department. Dr. Mureithi has held professional positions in local and international bodies and has received reputable awards from the Soil Science Society of East Africa (SSSEA) and the American Society of Agronomy (ASA).

Dr. Felister Wambugha Makini (Deputy Director General [Crops]), KALRO
Dr. Felister Wambugha Makini Dr. Felister Makini holds a BSc in Botany and Chemistry from the University of Nairobi, Kenya and a MSc in Plant Pathology from Georgia State University, USA.  She also has a PhD in Plant Pathology from the University of Greenwich, UK and has done several short courses in various fields.
Prior to her current position, she worked as the Deputy Director in charge of the Department of Outreach and Partnerships, a new department in the former Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KARI). She was responsible for promoting the dissemination and adoption of KARI technologies, products and services.  She was also responsible for promoting the establishment and strengthening of strategic partnerships along the research development to utilization continuum as well as along the agricultural product value chains (APVC), an approach adopted by then.  Recently together with others she published an operational field guide to innovation platforms as the lead author.


 No  Research Institute  County  Location  Institute Director
1 Agricultural Mechanization Research Institute Machakos Katumani Dr. Noah Wawire
 2  Apiculture  Baringo  Marigat Dr. Remy Tuey
 3  Arid and Range Lands  Makueni  Kiboko Dr. Simon Kuria (Deputy Institute Director)
4  Beef  Garissa  Garissa Mr. Isako Tura
5  Biotechnology  Kiambu  Muguga Dr. Raymond Mdachi
6  Coffee  Kiambu  Ruiru Dr. Elijah Gichuru
7  Dairy  Nakuru  Naivasha Dr. Evans D. Ilatsia
8  Food Crops  Trans-Nzoia  Kitale Dr. Joyce Malinga
9  Genetic Resources  Kiambu  Muguga Dr. Desterio Ondieki Nyamongo
10  Horticulture Crops  Muranga  Kandara Dr. Charles Waturu Nderito
11  Industrial Crops  Kilifi  Mtwapa Dr. Theresia Munga 
12  Non-Ruminant  Kakamega  Kakamega Dr. David Miano Mwangi
13  Sheep and Goat  Marsabit  Marsabit Dr. David  Changwony
14  Sugar  Kisumu  Kibos Dr. Chrispine Omondi
15  Tea  Kericho  Kericho Dr. Samson Kamunya
16  Veterinary  Kiambu  Muguga Dr. Monicah Maichomo