Coffee Research Institute

Coffee Arabica Variety

About the Institute
Coffee research in Kenya commenced in 1908. In 1944, the colonial government acquired Jacaranda farm at Ruiru and established the Coffee Research Station.  Laboratories were constructed and completed in 1949 funded by the Government. The Coffee Research Foundation (CRF) was established in 1964 under the Company's Act (Cap 486). 

On 1st July 2014, four (4) State Corporations namely; Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KARI), Tea Research Foundation (TRF), Coffee Research Foundation (CRF) and Kenya Sugar Research Foundation (KESREF) were effectively dissolved and merged to form Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organization (KALRO). CRF was consequently transformed into Coffee Research Institute (CRI) as one of the institutes under KALRO.

The Institute has its headquarters at Ruiru in Kiambu County.

The Institute conducts research in all areas of production, processing and marketing.  In addition the institute is expected to:

1. Organize, design and carry out on-station and on-farm research for coffee.
2. Identify production, policy, market, processing and utilization constraints in the coffee sub sector.
3. Identify and disseminate, in collaboration partner organizations, knowledge, information and options to improve coffee production and provide answers to foreseeable problems the sub sector.
4. Collaborate with the extension and education services and other organizations, agencies and 
5. Establish and maintain regular contact with regional and international agricultural research centres to ensure the rapid introduction, evaluation and use of coffee improved technology.
6. Conduct, in association with the secretariat, annual reviews of research results.
7. Promote demand-driven participatory research, planning and priority setting.

Institute Director,
Coffee Research Institute
P.O. Box 4-00232, Ruiru

Tel. Nos.: 020 2176420, 020 2176427, 0733 333 060/0724 527 611


Ruiru, Koru, Kitale, Kisii, Mariene, Namwela and Azania.